North Carolina Politics & onAir Hub

OnAir state Hub:
Lead onAir Chapter:  @University of North Carolina

North Carolina is located in the Southern region of the USA with Atlanta as its capital. The North Carolina legislature has 56 Senate members and 180 House members. North Carolina’s current political leaders are:

Governor Roy Cooper (D) since 2017
Lt. Governor Diane Primavera (D) since 2019
Attorney General, Phil Weiser (D) since 2019

Senior Senator Richard Burr (R) since 2015
Junior Senator Thom Tillis (R) since 2020

Seeking: Executive Director
Start July 1, 2020. Commitment through November 3, 2020 elections. Needs to live in or near the capital.

NC US House Members

The current US house members consist of 10 Republicans:
George Holding District 2 since 2013 (retiring);
Greg Murphy District 3 since 2020 (renominated);
Virginia Foxx District 5 since 2005 (renominated);
Mark Walker District 6 since 2015 (retiring);
David Rouzer District 7 since 2015 (renominated);
Richard Hudson District 8 since 2013 (renominated);
Dan Bishop District 9 since 2020 (renominated);
Patrick Henry District 10 since 2005 (renominated);
Mark Meadows District 11 since 2013 (renominated);
Ted Budd  District 13 since 2017  (renominated);

and 3 Democrats:
G. K. Butterfield District 1 since 2004 (renominated);
David Price District 4 since 1997 (renominated);
Alma Adams District 12 since 2015 (renominated);

Roy Cooper

Current Position: Governor since 2017
Affiliation: Democrat
Candidate: 2020 Governor

Roy Cooper believes in the potential of our great state and its people. He knows that we can build a state and an economy that work for everyone. By investing in our public schools and giving students the tools they need to succeed, creating good jobs and raising incomes for the middle class, and strengthening our communities, North Carolinians can live and work in places they are proud to call home.

Source: Government page

NC 2020 – US Senate

Party primary elections were held on March 3, 2020.

Thom Tillis, current Republican incumbent and former speaker of the North Carolina state House, won more than 78% of the vote.  Paul Wright, Larry Holmquist and Sharon Y. Hudson each had between 7% and 8%..

Cal Cunningham, a member of the Army Reserves, lawyer, and a former state senator, won 57% of the vote. State Sen. Erica Smith, a high school teacher and engineer from Northampton County, won less than 35%.

The 2020 United States Senate election in North Carolina will be held on November 3, 2020.



Richard Burr

Current Position: US Senator since 2005
Affiliation: Republican

First elected to the U.S. House of Representatives in 1994, Richard served five terms in the House and is currently serving North Carolina in his third term in the U.S. Senate.

He is a vocal advocate for our men and women in the military and their families, and for the growing population of veterans across North Carolina.

Source: Government page

2020 NC Governor Race

Democratic Gov. Roy Cooper of North Carolina has won his party’s primary and will face Republican Lt. Gov. Dan Forest in the November general election as he seeks a second term.

The two will face off for the state’s highest office later this year.

It’s a race that Forest has long been preparing for. Cooper enters that match up flush with cash and hoping his reelection could help Democrats take back one or both General Assembly chambers.

Source: WCNC

Voting in North Carolina in 2020

Federal & state elections on the ballot: President, US Senator, 13 US House members, Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Attorney General, and State Senate and House members

Ballot Measures: In North Carolina, citizens do not have the power to initiate statewide initiatives or referendums. Voters of North Carolina have never voted on a ballot measure to authorize a statewide initiative and referendum process.

The North Carolina State Board of Elections oversees all North Carolina elections.

Skip to toolbar